Rain, Drizzle, Fog and So Much More

This morning I woke up at 6:30 to go roller-skiing with my cross-country ski team. It was definitely quite the experience!

After awaking at such an ungodly hour I was picked up and driven down to the ferry terminal where we would leave to ski Bell Island. By this time the rain had started to pour and the fog was rolling in. None of us felt quite as awake as we usually do.

Upon arriving on the island my team and I geared up to have the time of our lives as we spent about 3 and a half hours roller-skiing around the island. To start it off we went up a giant hill that felt like it was going to kill me there and then. This was just the beginning. From then on we were faced with giant uphill slopes, long and scary downhills and never-ending slight uphill slopes. There were four hills that I either had to be driven or I had to walk down since they were so steep and scared me nearly to death. Other than I was able to conquer almost all of the hills. The only one that was an exception was this one hill where a car was tailing me and my friend. In order to avoid being run over we jumped onto the gravel. Thankfully there were no major injuries, just minor.

Along with all the tough hills came the Newfoundland weather. During the whole time it was drizzling. We did not see, at any point, even a sign of the clouds clearing. It was bleak, gray and dismal. To go along with the drizzle, about an hour after we arrived on the island the fog started rolling in. At the very end it, it was so foggy I could see at most only about 200 metres ahead of me, if that. To top it all of there was wind. It went nearly up to 30km/h winds today and it was always blowing in the wrong direction! After coming home at around 2:00pm I learned that in fact there was a tropical storm warning for today! Looks like we went roller-skiing in a tropical storm.

It was definitely a journey within itself. Can’t wait for the next one to come!

Leave a comment